Auvergne information

  • Central France, 4 hours to Paris

  • White snowy winters. Green hot summers

  • City Breaks: Moulins, Vichy Spa, Clermont Ferrand, etc

  • Volcanoes regional park, and many more

  • Skying, hang gliding, nature walks

  • Cosy Villages (9 plus beaux villages de France)

  • Medieval castles

Regional information Auvergne

The Auvergne is a mountainous region of medium altitude located on the north-east of the Massif Central, and made up of the following four departments: Allier (03) Cantal (15) Haute-Loire (43) and Puy-de-Dôme (63).

Generally sparsely populated, the Auvergne offers lots of space and good-sized properties. This mountainous region has the advantage of being well served by the motorway network, which makes it easily accessible. It is a peaceful area with different landscapes. Its dynamic inhabitants take pride in preserving local traditions, while showcasing them and developing new techniques and know-how.
The local culture is also preserved through the many festivals organized around the old traditions as well as innovations.


Located in the north of the Auvergne, the landscape in this department is less mountainous than the rest of the region. But make no mistake, the landscape is still quite hilly. The department is rich in remarkable towns and villages: Moulins and Montluçon, two large towns in the region, are both built along a river: The Allier in Moulins and the Cher in Montluçon. Going up the course of the Allier, you pass the famous spa town of Vichy, which is rich in history and architecture. An ideal place for a pleasant stroll.

Puy de Dome

Located just south of the Allier, Puy-de-Dôme is certainly the largest department in the region. The capital of the Auvergne, Clermont-Ferrand is an active city that combines modernity and tradition and certainly deserves a detour.
To the east of Clermont-Ferrand you will find one of the two Regional Natural Parks of the department: The Livradois-Forez Natural Park that extends to the Haute-Loire, and highlights the industrial know-how of the region. The local heritage is impressive in terms of innovation and shared conviviality.
In the south-west of this well-known department, there is the Auvergne Volcanoes Regional Natural Park, which was created in 1977 to preserve the remarkable flora and fauna that has developed on the dormant volcanoes, as well as the rural heritage and culture so dear to the inhabitants of the Auvergne. It includes the mountain range of Puys that has been declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
The Mont Doré located in the Sancy Massif is well known to ski enthusiasts. During the summer it is also a resort and offers thermal cures in the source of the Dordogne river.


Located in the south-east of the region, this department is crossed by both the Loire and the Allier rivers, which flow between the mountain ranges, forming spectacular gorges in some places, comparable to those of the neighboring Ardèche. The department also offers many outdoor activities such as hiking, with trails leading up to the Mont Mézenc that reaches an altitude of 1753 m, rafting in the Allier gorges or sailing on Lake Lavalette. The main town of Puy en Velay offers a rich culture and is well worth a detour.


This department located in the south-west of the Auvergne; it also has its own Regional Natural Park, that of Aubrac. A natural landscape of ancient volcanoes where cattle of the same name graze in the pastures.
The department invites you to discover various outdoor activities and its remarkable villages and towns. The most important towns in the department are Aurillac et de St Flour. They are steeped in history and architecture and are well worth a visit. However, we also recommend a detour through the villages of Mauriac and Riom-ès-Montagnes. On your way, you will have the opportunity to discover the many hilltop castles that dot the landscape.